Update for the Resources and Energy Sector

Emergency Management (Cross Border Travel No. 40) (COVID-19) Direction 2021 will come into effect at 12.01 am ACDT 26 February 2021 to end the restriction on travel from the Greater Melbourne area.

Under the new direction, Victoria including the Greater Melbourne Area will join the other states and territories as being designated a Low Community Transmission Zone. Travellers from those zones are not subjected to the testing or quarantine requirements but are still required to register online for contact tracing purposes.

Travellers from the Greater Melbourne Area, who were already in South Australia under the previous direction, who have been in a high risk site pursuant to these Victorian Department of Health and Human Service outbreak locations are to remain segregated and isolated and to contact SA Health regarding quarantine and testing requirements.

Those travellers from other areas of Greater Melbourne Area will be permitted to leave quarantine from 12.01 am Friday 26 February,  however they are required to complete their day one, five and 12 testing regime.

If the person needs to attend a high-risk setting such as a health, disability, aged care or correctional facility, they need to inform the facility they have been in High Community Transmission Zone in the past 14 days and will need to wear personal protective equipment (PPE).

All police highway checkpoints on the South Australian-Victorian border will cease operation 12.01 am Friday 26 February.

All travellers coming to South Australia are still required to complete a Cross-Border Travel Registration. All applications will be approved but the registration will enable police to follow up any cross-border travellers should a COVID-19 event require contact tracing.

Should you have any questions, please contact Martin.Reid@sa.gov.au at the Department for Energy and Mining.

Stay well,

Paul Heithersay
Chief Executive
Department for Energy and Mining

Wednesday 24 February 2021

The information contained in this resources and energy industry update has been verified by the South Australian Government COVID-19 Public Information Function Support Group coordinated by SA Police.

Previous COVID-19 updates from the Department for Energy and Mining