The 10th annual Premier’s Awards for Energy and Mining awards ceremony last night has shone a light on the best and brightest of South Australia’s energy and mining sectors.

The Awards provided the opportunity for industry leaders and innovators to come together in the one location for the first time since 2019, showcasing leading-edge technology and best practice in energy and mining.

Entrants in this year’s awards range from a large-scale energy project, to a closed-circuit waste management system to reprocess all waste streams, to air booster packages suitable for specific drilling rigs, collaboration to extend a mine’s life by 15 years, and engagement programs focusing on Aboriginal business and communities.

Premier Steven Marshall said the calibre of the entrants is a testament to the exceptional talent SA boast in these important sectors of South Australia’s economy.

“Innovation in South Australia’s energy and mining sectors is driving investment and jobs growth that underpin our record export results and strong economic performance,” said Premier Steven Marshall.

“South Australia’s concentration on environmental sustainability and technological innovation has made our state a global leader in the energy and mining sectors which make up 7.9 per cent of our economy.”

“Last night’s winners illustrate the dynamic and transformative work being undertaken in both sectors,” said Minister for Energy and Mining Dan van Holst Pellekaan.

“The nature of the of award-winning projects highlights that locally-based companies are striving for economic and environmental sustainability.

“Each organisation is demonstrating, in their own way, the synergy between generating financial value and maintaining positive environmental outcomes.

“The energy and mining sectors continue to set the example in programs to provide education, training, jobs and high-value opportunities for people across the state.”

Award recipients

Energy Sector: Innovation and collaboration

Winner: Enhanced Voltage Management (SA Power Networks)
Commendation: VIPER - the vertically integrated potential energy reservoir (Economical Energy Pty Ltd)
Tindo Solar New Production Facility (Tindo Solar)

Energy Sector: Environment

Winner: Port Augusta Renewable Energy Park (Iberdrola Australia)
Commendation: Roseworthy Solar Farm (The University of Adelaide)

Resources Sector: Productivity improvement

Winners: MaxMine: Unlocking mines full potential (MaxMine)
Liberty Whyalla Steelworks Continuous Improvement Program (Liberty Primary Steel – Whyalla Steelworks)
Commendation: Western Air Rigpack and Booster Compressor Projects (Western Air Compressors)

Resources Sector: Innovation and collaboration

Winner: Kapunda Copper ISR Project (EnviroCopper Ltd)
Commendation: Prominent Hill Shaft Expansion (OZ Minerals)

Resources Sector: Health and Safety

Winner: Safety Step Change (Adbri Ltd)
Commendation: Step Up For Safety (BHP)

Resources Sector: Environment

Commendation: Closed Circuit Waste Management System (SA Premium Cement & Concrete)

Resources Sector: Community

Commendation: OZ Minerals and Kokatha Aboriginal Corporation

Young Achiever

Winner: Patrick Enright (Olympic Dam BHP - Mine Development Superintendent (Operations))
Commendations: Edward Cronin (Digital Twinning Australia - Digital Engineer/Technical Lead)
Lindsay Millard (Enerven - Electrical Engineer)
Joel Beattie (Enerven - Civil Project Engineer)

More about the Premier's Awards and the nominees 

12 November 2021