The Emergency Management (Cross Border Travel – Associated Direction No 6) (COVID-19) Direction 2021 has been in force since 4.50pm Tuesday 27 April 2021, ending the prohibition on non-essential travellers from the Perth and Peel regions of Western Australia.

Travellers who have arrived from the Western Australian Perth and Peel Regions on or after 17 April 2021 or who have been in those regions at any time in the past 14 days are now subject to Level 3 requirements, unless otherwise advised by an authorised officer within the Department of Health and Wellbeing.

Exemptions for travel in relation to specialist workers in essential sectors including the mining, oil, gas and energy sectors remain in place under the updated associated direction. However, companies from essential industries should still strive to minimise worker movements from these regions, wherever possible at this time.

Essential travellers from the Perth and Peel regions must:

  • submit to COVID-19 testing within 24 hours, and on the 5th day, and on the 13th day after arrival
  • self-quarantine until receiving a negative COVID-19 test result
  • not enter or remain in a high risk setting for 14 days after arrival
  • not attend any event with an approved COVID Management Plan or at which more than 1000 people are present for 14 days after arrival.

Provisions of the Cross Border Travel (Associated Direction No. 6) should be read in conjunction with the General Cross Border Travel Direction.

Should you have any queries, please contact the Department for Energy and Mining by email at DEM@sa.gov.au.

Stay well,

Paul Heithersay
Chief Executive
Department for Energy and Mining

Wednesday 28 April 2021

The information contained in this resources and energy industry update has been verified by the South Australian Government COVID-19 Public Information Function Support Group coordinated by SA Police.

View all COVID-19 updates for the resources sector